Actualités Retour
jeudi 9 juin 2016

Sodom annonce la sortie de son prochain album ("Decision Day")


Tom Angelripper, le leader de Sodom (Thrash Metal - GER), vient d'annoncer la sortie d'un nouvel album baptisé Decision Day.

Le quinzième opus des Allemands sortira le 26 aout prochain via le label Steamhammer.

Ce dernier a été produit par Cornelius "Corny" Rambadt, le batteur d'Onkel Tom Angelripper et de Eat My Body.

L'artwork est signé quant à lui par Joe Petagno (visible ci-dessous), qui a notamment réalisé les pochettes de Overkill, Bomber, Orgasmatron et de Another Perfect Day de Motörhead, en plus d'avoir collaboré par le passé avec d'autres pointures comme Pink Floyd et Led Zeppelin.

Comme son nom peut le suggérer, Decision Day aura pour thème principal la journée du 6 juin 1944, le D-Day, durant laquelle les forces Alliées ont débarqué en Normandie pour libérer l'Europe du joug de l'Allemagne nazie.

Plus d'informations à suivre très prochainement.

Tracklist :

1.     In Retribution     
2.     Rolling Thunder      
3.     Decision Day          
4.     Caligula          
5.     Who Is God?          
6.     Strange Lost World     
7.     Vaginal Born Evil      
8.     Belligerence          
9.     Blood Lions          
10.   Sacred Warpath          
11.   Refused to Die          
12.   Predatory Instinct

Le communiqué officiel du groupe :

"Tom Angelripper is proud and excited to announce the release of the new Sodom album Decision Day for August 26th 2016. Together with his two comrades-in-arms, guitarist Bernemann and drummer Markus “Makka” Freiwald, Angelripper spent four months at the studio honing the new Sodom material. The result is a hard-as-nails, diverse thrash metal offering on the subject of D-Day, the day in June 1944 when the troops of the Western Allied forces landed in Normandy to liberate mainland Europe from the scourge of Nazi Germany. Songs such as ´Belligerence`, ´Decision Day` and ´Strange Lost World` present the Sodom frontman once more as a historically well-versed contemporary witness and critical observer of current international events. Decision Day was produced by Cornelius ´Corny` Rambadt, sound engineer and drummer with Angelripper’s side project Onkel Tom. The new release is bound to cause a stir, not least thanks to its impressive artwork courtesy of none other than Joe Petagno. As well as having worked for Pink Floyd and Led Zeppelin, Petagno is also Motörhead’s favoured graphic designer and has created legendary album covers such as Overkill, Bomber, Orgasmatron and Another Perfect Day. Angelripper: “I was surprised and proud to learn how familiar Joe is with Sodom, immediately bringing up associations of our ´Knarrenheinz` when we talked about the artwork. For a Motörhead fan like myself, this cover is an absolute dream come true.” Petagno: “After having spoken with Tom about the current state of world affairs and heard some brilliant tracks from the album I wanted to visualize the History of Man from the dawn of creation to the mess we have today. Firstly and rather obviously it’s World War 3. However on psychological and symbolic level it’s considerably more. I used Knarrenheinz as a symbol for the countless numbers who have soldiered on thru’ the centuries in one guise or another just to get us here anno 2016 where we seem to be on the brink of another possible eruption."